The district derives its name from its headquarter town Fatehabad. He named it after his son Fateh Khan as Fatehabad. The Fatehabad District carved out of Hisar District on 15.07.1997 and was created as a separate Sessions Division on 01.06.2005.

Tohana (Sub-Division):

When the Fatehabad was declared as independent district on 01.06.2005, there was one Sub Division functioning under Fatehabad Sessions Division i.e. Sub Division Tohana.

Ratia (Sub-Division):

The Civil Court at Ratia was inaugurated by Hon’ble Mr. Justice D.K.Jain, the then Hon’ble Chief Justice of Punjab & Haryana High Court, Chandigarh.